Grain-free, dairy-free Almond Pumpkin Cake w/Avocado Chocolate Frosting

I’ve been craving cake for a while, and under the pretence of my daughter’s upcoming birthday, I thought I’d try out a recipe. This one seems to work well. Obviously the whip cream is not dairy-free.

37087_10151449162710281_1610170378_n

Cake

I took the grain-free pancake recipe and doubled it.

* pinch of baking soda
* pinch of salt
* 2 tsp cinnamon
* 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
* 1 cup almond flour

* 1 tsp vanilla extract
* 1/2 cup pureed pumpkin
* 2 tbsp honey
* 4 eggs

Mix the dry. Mix the wet. Mix them together and pour into an 8×8 cake pan lined with parchment. Put it in a 350 degree oven for about 20 – 30 minutes (I wasn’t paying attention – just watch it).

Icing

1 ripe avocado
3 tbsp of raw honey
2 tbsp cocoa powder
pince of salt
2 tsp vanilla

Mix it all together in a food processor and ice that cake. Yum!

