Bulletproof Coffee

I’ve been trying to ween myself off of coffee. Can you believe that? I’ve known for a while that I drink too much coffee, but I was focused on dealing with other things and just ignored that particular demon until recently.

Then I read Melissa and Dallas’s coffee manifesto and I had to come to grips with the fact that a) I’d cleaned up so much of my diet already that I was short-changing myself if I didn’t look at my coffee consumption as well and b) I am such a tightly wound individual that I really don’t need to consume stimulants in mass quantities as I was doing.

This week I’ve cut down to only drinking coffee before work and then switching to water, white tea and green tea after that. It was going well. In fact, I broke my rule last night and had a cup of coffee (ok, 2 cups) after work and boy, did I feel my heart rate increase and my husband will attest to my general level of agitation. So – clearly I do not need coffee beyond the morning.

I had also read a while ago about how Katie at Wellness Mama drinks her coffee. It sounded interesting, but I didn’t really do anything about it. I’ve been forcing my kids to drink coconut oil mixed with coconut milk and a bit of raw honey lately and once in a while I would add a little coconut oil to my coffee, but it didn’t taste very good to me. Then a fellow at work mentioned the bulletproof coffee thing again and that got me thinking that I should probably try Katie’s recipe

I tried the recipe this morning (I forgot the vanilla, though and didn’t use stevia, and added vitamin D drops in). It was oddly satisfying, but not something that I could drink much of – I guess that’s the point!

I’m thinking that if I start drinking my coffee like this every day, then not only will I be doing my body good, I’ll also easily ween myself off of drinking any more coffee during the day, since I really would never want more than one cup of that concoction!

