Whole30 Recap

Well. Today is my first official non-Whole30 day. How did it go? 

First, the stats:

 

27-Aug

26-Sep

Weight (lbs)

122.6

115.6

Pant size

4

2

Chest (in)

31.5

31.5 (thank goodness!)

Waist (in)

27

26

Hips (in)

35

34

Thighs (in)

22.25

21.5

Am I surprised? Yes. (About my weight, anyway – I knew I was getting smaller)

Am I happy? Yes.

I was prepared for my weight to not have gone down. It was more important to me that the inches and dress size shrunk. 

Enough about the shrinking, here’s what I’ve gained:

  • Really really really deep sleeping
  • Waking up refreshed in the morning
  • Reduced sinus inflammation
  • Reduced post-workout recovery time
  • Increased energy
  • More consistent energy throughout the day
  • Increased stamina on long hikes
  • Greater awareness of what I’m eating and how it affects my body (good and bad)
  • Reduced cravings for sweet foods
  • Eliminated habit of drinking wine at night when watching tv
  • Eliminated need to weigh myself every day
  • A wicked addiction to kale chips

What’s next? 

I don’t think I’m going to change my food choices very much. It will be nice to be able to make a salad dressing that has a bit of honey or maple syrup in it. 

I am going to put the bathroom scale away again. I don’t need it. I don’t want to judge myself based on those arbitrary numbers anymore. There are better ways to measure my progress.

What’s my first off-roading adventure?

Actually – I already had it. We sold our house last night (finally!) and we opened a bottle of champaign to celebrate. It was nice, but my head hurt a bit this morning and my sinuses are inflamed. I don’t like feeling like that.

I enjoy drinking my carbonated spring water out of a wine glass and it doesn’t make me feel crappy in the morning, so I don’t think I’ll be partaking much in the future. Plus, carbonated water is a lot cheaper than wine and beer.

What would I do differently if I did a Whole30 again?

  • I would have tracked some fitness metrics. Like my weight lifts or my hiking pace or distance. 
  • I would try more new recipes. I don’t cook much (my husband is such a good cook and really enjoys it) but the couple of times I did, I enjoyed making and trying new things. Very empowering.
  • I would have used the Whole30 forums. During my last failed attempt I used the forums and it was great. Lots of supportive people. I’m not sure why I didn’t do it this time.
  • I would have purged my house of dates and Larabars to make it easier on myself. Nuff said.

Last words

I admit that a few days ago I thought that the Whole30 hadn’t really changed my life (as advertised!). I was wrong. I was just evaluating it through the wrong lens. I was so busy evaluating how it was changing me physically (and it did) that I wasn’t focusing on how it was changing me mentally. And that’s where the magic really happens. When I started this journey I thought it was going to be a long 30 days. And it was at first. But now, it just seems like the right thing to do for myself and my family. Not for 30 days. Forever. 

