Day 21 and going strong

It’s been a busy life here in the Food Freak Clan. Lots of scurrying here and there, with various members home here and there with a virus that seems to be going around. In between we’ve taken up P90X workouts again, lots of really long hikes, and the husband and I are both back to volunteering – me as Co-President of our Home and School Association, he as VP of Fundraising for our local political riding. Plus a crap-load of house showings (did I mention our house is up for sale?). Busy busy busy.

But in the midst of it all we have stayed compliant! Which has not been as hard as I thought it would be. I think I’ve got a handle on my dried fruit consumption – which I am eating with nuts only when we hike. I’ve got a serious addiction to kale chips now, though!

I’m still not sure if I’ve lost any weight, but I have definitely toned up and my waist seems pretty tight. Awesome! Plus, my boobs haven’t gotten any smaller, which is nice for a change.

I continue to be amazed at what a big role food plays in every day social interactions. On the plus side, that means that we’ve actually saved a lot of money instead of going out to movies, dinner, and socializing with non-paleo people. Instead, we’ve been doing an incredible amount of hiking, walking and working out. In between we do a lot of food buying, food prepping, food cooking, and soup-canning. It’s been great, actually.

I feel really good and most of the time I sleep really well, too. I’m still not jumping out of bed in the morning. Maybe I should go to bed earlier? I have noticed that I’m not as sore after workouts and I feel like I could go for a run when we go for walks around the neighbourhood.

The kids aren’t really doing anything close to a Whole30, but they have been eating pretty strict paleo with some added dairy and the occasional small amount of honey or stevia, and I’m very proud of them for that.

