Day 11 Progress Report

Day 11 was pretty uneventful.

Food Log

Breakfast: Coffee, 2 slices bacon, 1 egg, fish oil
Lunch: 4 slices bacon, 2 eggs, 2 barn dates (I know – they’re dried fruit!)
Snack: tea
Dinner: chicken & green pepper fajitas with guacamole & tomatoes wrapped in boston lettuce
Snack: apple, a few strawberries, a bit of salami and homemade kale chips (and tea)

Disclosure: I had a cup of coffee around 5 PM, which I said I wasn’t going to do. BUT – that’s still way less than I usually drink, so that’s good. I will not have one this evening.

Exercise Log:

NOTHING. David was under the weather so we didn’t do much. I just read and relaxed which was really nice.

Observations:

I was thinking that the Whole30 hasn’t shown any dramatic results for me yet. My pants are not looser, I still don’t want to get out of bed in the morning, and I got a pimple a couple of days ago.

[Boys – you might want to stop reading now]

PMS: Then I got my period this morning and realized that I hadn’t had any of my usual PMS symptoms this time. Usually “parts” of me are very tender and sore and off limits to the husband, I can’t pooh, I bloat up, and I’m just an emotional mess. I didn’t get any of that. I did get a little pimple. And my pants are not looser, but usually they are tighter this time of month. So maybe more is going on than I realized.

[Ok – boys can read again]

Aches and pains: I’ve also noticed that I haven’t been sore AT ALL after my workouts and hikes. NOTHING. So, that’s interesting.

Sleep: Holy crap. I can’t believe how deep I am sleeping. But I still don’t want to get out of bed in the morning.

Coffee: I’m pretty pleased with myself about reducing the coffee consumption. That is no small thing – I drink A LOT of coffee normally. I have replaced some of that with green tea and some with water.

Alcohol: Not drinking wine or beer has not been the struggle I thought it would be, either. I just switch to carbonated spring water with lots of ice in a wine glass. In fact, the thought of a martini seems genuinely unappealing at the moment. I’m going to have a glass of wine for our anniversary at the end of the month, but other than that I am not sure if I’m going to drink much anymore.

Attitude: I also think that my results would be a little more dramatic if I wasn’t being so laisez-faire about my protocol. I’m eating bacon and if I eat a bit of dairy I’m not having a cow. I’m doing this so that I don’t get all wound-up and stressed about being perfect like I did last time – which is usually what sabotages me. So – I’m not going to change those things. But, I do admit that bacon is not a Whole30 item nor is it health food so I should adjust my expectations accordingly.

Cheers until next time!

2 thoughts on “Day 11 Progress Report

  1. You’re a few days ahead of me, but I’m with you on the Whole30 this month. I was having the same thought as you about alcohol. It really is more of a habit, and there’s no nutritional value. Might as well develop a new habit of passing it by…except on a special occasion.

Comments are closed.