Days 4 and 5 Progress Report

Hello Peoples!

Day 4 Food Log:

Day 4 Exercise Log:
P90X2 Plyocide. I hurt my big toe. Ouch.

Day 5 Food Log:

I didn’t put my food into fitday, but I skipped breakfast (except for coffee). For lunch we went to the local campus restaurant for a goodbye lunch for our co-op student. I had water, a hamburger with tomato, lettuce and pickle (no bun) and a salad with olive oil. For dinner I had homemade Ratatouille soup, salad with pear, sun-dried tomato and walnut. And coffee and a coconut larabar for dessert.

For exercise we are going for a walk tonight.

Observations

Some of the guys from work wanted to go out for a pint this evening, and my first instinct was “Oh darn! I’d like to do that! Stupid Whole30!” Then I remembered that this was something I WANTED to do, that no one is making me do it, and that there would be opportunities in the future to go out and have a pint, but right now this is what I want. That was both empowering and liberating. In fact, this week there has been more than one time when I was sort of resentful of the diet, and all I had to do was say to myself, YOU’RE the one who wanted to do this. If you don’t want to, then don’t. That was enough for me to remember the reasons I’m doing the Whole30 and get over myself!

Also – I usually am a bit obsessed with weighing myself. So, it’s been hard not doing that. Instead, I’ve been checking my pee a couple of times a day with keetostix trying to see if I’m in ketosis. Finally today I made the stick turn pink! Woo hoo! I don’t know why this is important to me, other than that a) I know without a doubt that my body is efficiently burning fat as it’s main fuel-source, b) it gives me something to measure and c) I’ve never been able to do that before. I feel so in control! (Did I mention that I’m something of a control freak?) Also, now I know what ketosis pee smells like – acetone. Ugh.

Another observation – I’m trying to limit my intake of dried fruit this time around so that I can get some control over my sugar cravings. That being said, I had a larabar after dinner tonight. Normally these things taste kind of chalky to me. Tonight it tasted like the most decadent dessert in the world! I feel like I’ve cheated or something. That says to me that my body is resetting itself in terms of sweet. So cool!

Nuff said. 🙂

