Whole 30 Redux

Back in May the clan and I started our first Whole 30. We started out strong, but it began to unravel after the first week, recovered briefly, and then fell wildly off the rails by Day 15 (at which point I was so embarrassed I’d stopped chronicling our (I thought) colossal failure.

Well, we are at it again. Sort of. Last time, I dictated that our kids (12 year old daughter and 17 year old son) had to be fully compliant with us and that if anyone cheated, then we all cheated and had to start over again from the beginning (harsh!).

Things are a little different this time around.

My goals are different, for one. This time around, I’m doing the Whole30 for me, and me alone. To prove to myself that I can and to form some better habits. If anyone else wants to jump on board then that’s cool, but I’m not policing it. They are responsible for their behaviour and accountable to themselves alone.

I’m not pre-planning for failure. Last time, I went in knowing that husband planned on drinking during his boys fishing weekend. In my twisted mind that meant that I had a cheat day (or two or three) in my pocket. Which I used. And then encouraged the kids to cheat to allay my guilt. NICE!

I’m not stressing it. I can get obsessed with stuff. All the time. Yes, I’m doing a Whole30. Yes, it’s a commitment to eating and living well. But that’s it. It doesn’t have to consume every waking moment of my life. It’s just something I’m doing right now.

This is what you can expect from this blog:

  1. I’ll post every day 5 days per week.
  2. I’ll discuss observations, motivations, and challenges along the way.
  3. I’ll list out my eats.
  4. I’ll list out my workouts and activities.
  5. I’ll be honest.

Thanks for sticking around and I hope you enjoy the journey!

