Kale Chips – Yum

I just made some kale chips and am currently dehydrating apple rings for the kids. I have bought kale chips in the past and found them absolutely gross, but these homemade ones are pretty good. I thought I’d give you the recipe.

Kale Chips

  • Bunch of Kale
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil melted
  • Sea Salt

Cut off the stems of the kale and cut into small bit size pieces. Try to make them about the same size – err on the side of small.

Place the melted coconut oil in a bowl with a good amount of sea salt and add the kale. Mix until covered (but not sopping). Place as a single layer on cookie sheets and stick in a 300 degree oven for 30 minutes or so. Wait until the kale turns really dark green, maybe a bit brown. Taste one and add more salt if necessary. Let cool, put in a bowl and eat.

Apple Rings

  • 2-3 cored, peeled apples
  • bowl of water with lemon juice
  • cinnamon

Using a mandoline or apple peeler slice the apple rings very thinly. Place them flat in the lemon water. Remove from water and place in single layers in your food dehydrator. Sprinkle with cinnamon.

For chewy rings leave for 6 hours, for crispy leave for 8-12 hours.

I would give you the recipe for sweet potato microwave chips, but I burnt them while I was writing this post, so I’m not sure if it works. Maybe next time!

