Whole30 Day 7 – Mother’s Day

My older sister, daughter, and I took my mom to Port Stanley for the day. As kids, my parents always rented a cottage at Port Stanley on Lake Erie for two weeks every summer. We have a lifetime of memories there and it’s nostalgic to visit every once in a while.

We had lunch at a great little restaurant called Me & Suzie’s. They pride themselves on serving fresh, locally sourced ingredients. It wasn’t hard to stay Whole30 compliant -the smoked salmon and asparagus frittata fit the bill – I told them I was celiac and lactose intolerant. I had brought my own salad dressing just in case, but I didn’t need it. We had mineral water and lemon while my mom and sister enjoyed beers (mmmm. I miss that).

My daughter opted for the Lake Perch fried in a light gluten-free dusting. Not technically Whole30 complaint. Neither were the fries that she had with it. I let it slip, though I probably shouldn’t have. I was hoping it might legitimize the glass of wine that I envisioned having at the work conference in Toronto. I’m so bad.

If we were playing by our original rules, we should have technically started the 30 days over after that meal. But we didn’t.

Lesson 1: the Whole30 is easy until you get into typical social situations that involve food and drink, or where you don’t have control over the menu.

Lesson 2: I can rationalize just about anything. 🙂

