Whole Family Does Whole 30

When I first heard about the Whole30 over at the Whole9Life.com blog a little over a year ago, I thought they were crazy. I mean insane. Truly. No one but no one gives up ALL dairy, ALL grains, All sweetener (artificial and natural), ALL alcohol, and legumes and white potatoes. Who would do that? There wouldn’t be anything left to eat!

Fast forward a year and not only am I in the thick of my first Whole30, but I’ve also dragged my family along for the ride. The Chief was a willing enough participant, but my 16 year old son and 12 year old daughter, not so much.

What changed in year?

For the past year I’ve been following the primal principles of Mark Sisson, possibly the coolest ancestral health advocate in the blogsphere. The Chief has, too. And we’ve both seen awesome results. We look better, we feel better, we sleep better, and we do a couple of other non-PG things better (or at least more often), too.

Our goals for the Whole30 were simple:

1. Get the kids eating better and see if eliminating specific food groups in their diet would make a perceivable difference in their health and wellness.

2. Empower our family to realize how much they are capable of and the amount of control they have in their lives.

3. Make us more aware of our food behaviours and where we derail ourselves. My son has a pretty wicked carb addiction that we were specifically hoping he could exorcise.

4. Plus, I’ll admit it, I was hoping to maybe get down one more pant size…

This blog chronicles our experiences over the next 30 days. I hope you enjoy it!

